The Nightmares Underneath 2nd Edition

I don’t use this blog much anymore, but since I don’t have a new website set up yet, I should announce this here:

The second edition revision of The Nightmares Underneath is finished.

If you already bought the pdf (free or full version), you can download the new edition right away from your DriveThruRPG library. If you’d like a print copy, they are available from the Exalted Funeral webstore. I did an offset print run this time, collaborating with SoulMuppet Publishing, instead of continuing with print on demand. The result is a much better quality physical book. About half the print run is already gone at the time of this being posted, but there’s still copies available.

As with all my books, if you buy one in print and you want the pdf to go with it, email me at johnstone (dot) metzger (at) gmail (dot) com and I will hook you up for no extra charge.

What’s New?

The revised edition includes better explanations of the rules, some more setting material, more support for normal dungeons and looting them of their magic items, and perhaps most significantly, the spellcasting system no longer uses memorization (you can still use those rules from 1e if you prefer them). I have also removed the bestiary and the wilderness exploration rules, both of which will be expanded into full-sized supplements to be released in the future.

11 Comments to “The Nightmares Underneath 2nd Edition”

  1. What’s the difference between the free version and bought version? Is ti just missing the artwork?

    I’m still going to buy it, I”m just curious.

  2. Will there be a similar update to the Nameless Grimoire, or is it to remain pretty much as-is?

  3. Hi there! I have to say, of all OSR games I’ve read I like TNU the most, and I really want to run it sometime – I’d already been building a city/megadungeon inspired by Mughal architecture and Indo-Iranian mythology, with an intention to “West Marches” it, when the 2nd edition came out.

    While I’m a bit on the fence regarding the changes to Disposition, I’m willing to give it a try. However, it would be very helpful to see some examples of a bestiary for 2e or some guidelines of translating 1e/OSR monsters to TNU 2e, considering Hit Dice work a bit different.

    Are there any news on when the bestiary might be expected?

    Excellent job on the whole project, I can’t stress enoug how many boxes it ticks with me and how much I like all the little details – both mechanically and artistically.

    • The monster manual should be finished sometime in 2021. Hopefully in the first half, but these days who knows what sort of disasters are about to happen.

      The new rules make all combats feel like levels 1 to 3, so the trick to making monsters tougher is usually to give them immunities and resistances, so the players have to get creative and find out how to win.

      • Makes absolute sense. Thank you very much for your response. Good luck with the monster manual, take care and keep safe!

  4. Is 2e going to come back into print?

  5. I was wondering if there is a physical copy available somewhere. I was not able to find one on the Exalted Funeral webstore.

Leave a comment